Skip to main content
Intelligence Hub

U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention · NORS

Foodborne Outbreak Intelligence

Voluntarily reported foodborne outbreaks and associated outcomes—not real-time incident monitoring or true disease incidence.

Available · Manually imported Food-mode snapshot

Why this evidence matters

  • This is the official US national foodborne outbreak surveillance record: 24,729 voluntarily reported Food-mode outbreaks (1998–2023) show which foods, settings and etiologies are repeatedly implicated.
  • Use it to ground HACCP reviews, root-cause analysis and training in what investigators actually found — for example, which food vehicles recur for a pathogen you control for.
  • Reporting is incomplete, final counts lag 12–18 months and are retrospectively revised; these are reported outbreaks, not current activity or true disease incidence.

Reported outbreaks

24,729

One source row per outbreak; multivalue fields never multiply this count.

Reported illnesses

467,790

Estimated primary cases under each outbreak-specific case definition.

Reported hospitalizations

22,698

335,842 cases have hospitalization information.

Reported deaths

536

343,112 cases have survival information.

Annual reported outbreak activity

Latest available outbreak year is 2023; final reporting can lag 12–18 months.

Etiology

An outbreak may appear under multiple reported agents; headline totals remain unduplicated.

State of exposure

Counts are reporting activity, not population-adjusted rates or state safety rankings.

IFSAC food category

Missing categories remain Unspecified; “Multiple” is retained as published.

Outbreak records

Filtered selection ≤ 500 records. Narrow filters to prepare a complete selection; no first-page or first-500 export.

Public extract has no stable outbreak identifier. Record keys are snapshot-scoped canonical digests and must not be interpreted as CDC case numbers.

YearStateEtiology / statusFood vehicleSettingIllnessesHosp.Deaths
2023-12Alaska

Clostridium botulinum

Confirmed

Seal oilResidence - Single-family home220
2023-12Arizona

Salmonella enterica

Confirmed

Not reportedNot reported310
2023-12California

Unknown/unreported

Status not reported

Not reportedNot reported200
2023-12California

Unknown/unreported

Status not reported

Not reportedRestaurant: Sit-down dining900
2023-12California

Norovirus unknown

Suspected

Not reportedRestaurant: Other1000
2023-12California

Norovirus unknown

Suspected

Not reportedRestaurant: Sit-down dining300
2023-12Colorado

Norovirus

Suspected

Not reportedRestaurant: Sit-down dining200
2023-12Colorado

Other - Chemical/Toxin

Suspected

Not reportedRestaurant: Sit-down dining900
2023-12Florida

Scombroid toxin

Confirmed

tunaResidence - Single-family home200
2023-12Hawaii

Salmonella enterica

Confirmed

Not reportedRestaurant: Sit-down dining400
2023-12Illinois

Shigella unknown

Confirmed

beef, otherRestaurant: Sit-down dining1300
2023-12Illinois

Norovirus unknown

Suspected

Not reportedRestaurant: Fast-food (drive up service or pay at counter)1100
2023-12Illinois

Salmonella enterica

Confirmed

Not reportedRestaurant: Fast-food (drive up service or pay at counter)600
2023-12Illinois

Norovirus Genogroup II

Confirmed

Not reportedNot reported5600
2023-12Illinois

Norovirus Genogroup II

Suspected

Not reportedRestaurant: Sit-down dining1600
2023-12Kansas

Unknown/unreported

Status not reported

Not reportedRestaurant: Fast-food (drive up service or pay at counter)2Unknown0
2023-12Maryland

Scombroid toxin

Confirmed

CodResidence - Single-family home200
2023-12Massachusetts

Salmonella enterica

Confirmed

Not reportedNot reported500
2023-12Massachusetts

Norovirus unknown

Suspected

Not reportedResidence - Single-family home;Restaurant: Sit-down dining1000
2023-12Michigan

Clostridium perfringens;Bacillus cereus

Confirmed;Confirmed

Roasted prime ribCaterer1600
2023-12Minnesota

Norovirus Genogroup II;Norovirus Genogroup II

Confirmed;Confirmed

Not reportedRestaurant: Other1300
2023-12Minnesota

Campylobacter

Confirmed

crab cakesRestaurant: Sit-down dining200
2023-12Missouri

Unknown/unreported

Status not reported

spinachEvent space1500
2023-12Montana

Trichinella spiralis

Suspected

mountain lion sausageResidence - Single-family home400
2023-12Multistate

Listeria monocytogenes

Confirmed

Not reportedHospital;Unknown960

Page 1

Snapshot coverage

66,713 official rows reconciled; 24,729 exact Primary Mode = Food rows stored. Coverage 1998–2023.

Interpretation

Reporting is voluntary, likely undercounts, can be revised retrospectively, and is not suitable for real-time monitoring or probability estimates.